Another milestone

Oh the joy The Lord has given me this past year.

A year ago today I had my mastectomy surgery. And so began the hardest summer of my life. The only thing harder than this fight I had in front of me was losing my Dad. But I have survived both challenges.

People say “the Lord only gives you what you can handle”…but He doesn’t ask if I want to handle it! I wanted my Dad with me so often this past year. Lymphoma took him within five months, but I know my Dad was with me every step of this past year. I am filled with joy, because I have a faith that trusts in God’s divine providence. I know I might not be able to handle everything, but God can and I usually need to remember to step aside and allow God’s glory to take hold.

Every treatment, chemo, radiation, therapy, doctors appointments and bad day was in God’s ultimate plan. And it feels so good to know that someone all knowing has my back.

This past year has taught me how precious life is…I always knew it of course, but to be thrust in the middle of a life battle really makes you look differently. It also gives you the ability to not sweat the small stuff.

Every blade of grass has a purpose, every ant a mission. What a wonderful gift to be given…a new pair of eyes to see Gods creation and to contemplate its purpose and mission.

Look at the world differently today. Because we are here today, does not guarantee tomorrow. God gives us so much each and every day…we need to embrace each grace, smile and give love back.

Grace embraced this year through the beautiful creation I have seen with my new eyes e of God!

Then God said, “I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food. And to all the beasts of the earth and all the birds in the sky and all the creatures that move along the ground—everything that has the breath of life in it—I give every green plant for food.” And it was so. God saw all that he had made, and it was very good. And there was evening, and there was morning—the sixth day. Genesis 1:29-31

5 thoughts on “Another milestone

  1. Sweet Janet, so good to hear from you dear cousin; I had been thinking of you and realizing had been awhile, and then I heard again from you with your grace inspired messages, and words of wisdom to inspire, comfort, and encourage all of us. You are truly a cherished Daughter of God, and an inspiration to all of us. Thank you, you are in love and prayer. Love, Marie.

  2. Happy New Birth- Day…you have been such an inspiration to me…..continue your gift of helping others see the beauty of God’s creation all around us. Love you, Evie

  3. Janet, thank you for sharing your journey with us. What an amazing woman you are! I hope only good things come your way this year. Love you, Jeanne Marie

  4. Can’t wait to see you soon.
    I have learned so much about myself and my faith through just being your sister.
    God has blessed me with you!
    Thank you for such an inspirational post!
    Love ya!

  5. I am so full of gratitude that you faced the uncertainties and held on tight to God. Your faith has been a true inspiration to me. So glad I am blessed to serve with you!

Your thoughts warm my heart and strengthen my path, thanks for commenting on my journey,

