Anniversary thoughts

Today begins the Anniversary march. You know when you experience the “firsts” of everything.1anni

One year ago today I found my lump. Although I say “my”, I never took ownership of it. It was a foreigner in my body and as soon as I felt it I wanted it out. I remember telling my husband and he said lovely “it’s probably nothing”. I know he was trying to calm my fears and comfort me. But the one thing I was not was fearful.

I was with my father on November 24, 2006 when the doctor drained the fluid from his lungs and told him the tests were stage 4 lymphoma. He looked at my mother and lovely said “we’ve had a great life”. He would fight with everything he had, but he was not fearful but calm in those first few moments.

I remember thinking immediately of my dad and how strong he was and how faith-filled he was. And I felt the same way. I was not fearful, but I was concerned. Yet, I felt a peace over me. As if the Lord was saying to me “I’ve got this”. And I believed…

“It is not for you to know the times or dates the Father has set by his own authority” Acts 1:7

And I have always trusted in my Lord…and He has never failed me.

I trusted His plan is so much better than any plan I could imagine.
I trusted His timing is perfect and that I will not be disappointed.
I trusted His healing power to guide those ministering to me.
I trusted His joy in seeing His glory in all that I would undergo.

And He exceed any expectations I could have imagined.

I would not wish this journey on anyone and I would not choose to go through it again. But I was so blessed with each step of this journey. You have read before all those that have helped me. But spiritually nothing compares to the depth of the relationship between Jesus and me.

He hears from me daily and many times throughout the day.

And I hear from Him more than ever…
I hear his voice in the friends that have reached out to me.
I hear his voice in the family that have cared for me.
I hear his voice in the doctors as they treat me.
I hear his voice in all the support techs and nurses that have shown amazing kindness.

His grace surrounds me.

When I began this blog I named it Grace Embraced, because I knew I felt grace filled moments as I walked those first few weeks alone with my husband and children. Now I know God named this Grace Embraced because He planned on filling every moment of my life with grace, as He has always done…but my eyes are now wide open and I can clearly see the grace as it flows around me.

Grace is Love.
And
Love is God.

To all the wonderful women in my life…for me, do a self-exam this evening…be aware of your own body…don’t put off until tomorrow…I love you all too much to not remind you…

So even on this anniversary that no one wants to remember, and as I approach the first anniversary of surgery and first anniversary of chemo, etc. I remember my dad’s words “we’ve had a good life” and I’m still enjoying it! Thanks Dad for looking down on me and Praise to the Lord for his goodness endures forever and flows over me we grace! According to my medical oncologist, my chances are statistically 50/50 that I will be here for more than 5 years. But my God knows statistics don’t hold any value with Him and I will continue to embrace and follow Him!

Grace embraced through you all; and you all are embraced with all the graces I have received, because I cannot receive them without sharing them with you.

“the day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.” Matthew 24:36

7 thoughts on “Anniversary thoughts

  1. Janet, you’re awesome and I’m sure you will be here for a long time to come! We always love reading your blog and hearing your thoughts. You, Kevin and your entire family are always in our thoughts and prayers. K & G

  2. Janet…you have led the way of embracing all that has been placed on you….and with so much grace. You will be the outspoken advocate for all women….leading the way to healthier lives and loving spirituality. Bless you as you approach each anniversary….love you, Aunt Evie

  3. Janet, That was so beautiful! You are such an amazing person and inspire me more then I can tell you! I love reading your blog. My thoughts and prayers are with you, Kevin and your kids through this journey. XO

  4. Janet, your faith has always inspired me even before this latest journey. I love to talk with you about our faith and am glad we have had the wonderful experience of working together for six years. I really miss those times, but it seems there are a lot of bumpy roads. I hope this year is a better one– you really deserve it. May God continue to bless you in the many years ahead. I can’t wait to see you holding your grandchildren. LOL Love you, Kathy J

  5. Janet, I am so sad I can’t be with you this weekend as planned. The celebration would have been wonderful! You are such an inspiration! I’m so proud to be your sister. I hope your time with Diane in Colorado is everything you want and need! Enjoy!
    Love ya,
    Teri

Your thoughts warm my heart and strengthen my path, thanks for commenting on my journey,

