3/4 Done!

Today was my last day of radiation.wineskins-old-new
Another celebration!
Another victory over cancer!
Another gift of another day!

Radiation was 33 days long. 33 days may not seem like a lot, but it was exhausting to my body and spirit at times. All my energy was sent getting through my work days without effecting others. Then I would collapse at home. I am so fortunate to have an amazing husband that gives and does and takes care of me. He allowed me to relax and put my tired feet up as soon as I walked in the door. Radiation took its toll on me, thank goodness everyone around me understood.

The fatigue and burnt skin may still take up to four weeks to heal. I will miss the techs but not the early morning appointments or the damaging rays. Chemo and radiation damages us to make us better…what a concept!

My skin is burnt from my underarm to the center of my chest and from my clavicle to my stomach. But as it begins to heal, I am not focusing on the ugly peeling but on the pink new skin underneath.

New skin that represents new healing,new hope, new life, new beginnings.
New skin that offers a fresh start as we begin a fresh year.

Healing through the pain and discomfort is my new routine. I know January will bring crispy winter days and as I breathe in the cold Chicago air, I will remember each breath is a gift, each day a treasure. I survived chemo, I survived radiation, now eight months left of Herceptin and creating a healthy life that keeps the cancer away.

As my new skin over takes the old worn burnt skin, I begin a new year with a bright fresh “pink skinned” outlook.  New skin ready to receive the gift of healthy cells.

May all those currently in treatments see the new skin that awaits them.

“No one tears a piece out of a new garment to patch an old one. Otherwise, they will have torn the new garment, and the patch from the new will not match the old. And no one pours new wine into old wineskins. Otherwise, the new wine will burst the skins; the wine will run out and the wineskins will be ruined. No, new wine must be poured into new wineskins. And no one after drinking old wine wants the new, for they say, “The old is better.” Luke 5:37-39 

Grace embraced through the healing of the skin over the next few weeks. May my new “wineskin” create a new garment for my body to be cancer-free!

7 thoughts on “3/4 Done!

  1. I know you enjoyed your first free day from radiation. Thank you for your inspirations. I so wanted to quit radiation days ago. Burnt skin does not feel good at all. However God places amazing men and children in our lives. My last day is tomorrow and then going up to our condo in the north woods of Michigan with all my family. Celebrate life as we enter a new year. Thanks again for holding me up in your notes and prayers. I like your idea for “breast friends”. I will email while resting this weekend. Continue to rest and heal.

  2. Enjoyed your Christmas card and always your wonderful, inspiring messages. God bless you and yours in the New Year, and especially with renewed health! Love, Marie.

Your thoughts warm my heart and strengthen my path, thanks for commenting on my journey,

