And the answer is…

No tumor!

My bone scan was normal! No signs of arthritis either! No abnormalities! Great news!

My mind is at ease, but my aches are still there. As a cancer patient, every twinge and every ache become a question of where did that come from? Could it be a symptom of something worse?

I learned a valuable lesson this past month. I need to continue to listen to my body. When I have symptoms and aches, I need to address them.  This terrible disease can come back and I never want to let it grow in my because I choose to close my eyes to symptoms.

I have to be my own advocate when dealing with health care professions.
I had mentioned my back and rib pain to the chemo techs after Thanksgiving. They did not ask more questions. I’m sure they see every kind of symptom as patients go through treatment. So their non-concern gave me permission to not be concerned also. I also mentioned it to the dermatologist I saw earlier this month to remove a suspicious mole. Still no concern. Every health care professional that I have dealt with over the past ten months has been wonderful and caring. But they don’t know what is going on in my body. They can’t feel what I feel. I can try to describe it, but it’s not the same. They are focused on the reason I am seeing them. I need to be my own advocate with new symptoms.

Well I now have a rolodex of physicians. Breast surgeon, Medical Oncologist (two), Radiation Oncologist, Dermatologist, Hypertension Physician, Otolaryngologist, Urologoist, Gynecologist and Primary Care Physician, along with all their fellows, associates, nurses, techs, nutritionist, and medical assistants. I’ve got people to talk to! A few months ago, I was asked if I was going to a health screening my office was hosting. I thought maybe I should go, then paused and realized I have been scanned, x-rays, imaged and blood worked so much this year, there is nothing a health screening can discover! I hope!

I am so thankful for all the prayers, texts, emails, cards for my concerns. I am grateful to the Lord for sheltering me from the worse case scenario of this symptom. Finally, I have opened my eyes to the endless possibilities of what await me as I move forward as a breast cancer survivor.

I embrace grace through prayers. I pray for all the women fighting this disease, that you find strength in those around you that care for you. I pray for those that have fought this disease and are surviving and thriving each day, you are an inspiration to me. I pray for those who fought and lost their battle with cancer, look down on those here fighting and intercede for us.

Rejoice in the Lord always. I shall say it again: rejoice! Philippians 4:4

14 thoughts on “And the answer is…

  1. GREAT news Janet !! I truly have been thinking of you and praying for you since your last post (well – all the time – but that last post……..) so so happy. XXOO Kristine

  2. Thanks so much for letting me know the outcome of that test; as you said rightly though, be your own advocate. Love and God bless you sweet Janet. Love, Marie.

  3. I know how relieved you must feel. Thanks for my prayer note. I left you something today. Have a wonderful rest of your week. Radiation is winding down. A new year is upon us. God Bless us all! Praying for quick skin healing today!

  4. What a great journey you have been on with the most wonderful result! You have learned much about yourself and my side of the world. Now everything in the world looks different. Your eyes are wide open with greater than 20 20 vision! You have shared much in your private world and I applaud you. You did what I thought you would, you made not only lemonade with your lemons but fantastic lemon bars too! Great job Janet! God bless you! Love you girl! Paula K

  5. So proud of you. Any special Saint to prayer to in Rome?? Found myself trying to figure out who to prayer to at Montmartre. Saints line the Chapel there. Take care. Mindy

    Sent from my iPhone

  6. Janet,

    So very happy to hear this news, it is a blessing!!

    Your third paragraph, while so very true, hits a chord with me. When mom complained of pain 6 weeks after surgery, everyone told her it was in her mind and she needed pain mgmt.

    Two months later she lost her battle because they would not listen to want she heard her body telling her!

    Be true to yourself and your feelings and you will continue to win this battle. I’m very proud to be a friend and wish you and Kevin the best Christmas ever!!

    Chip

  7. Thank God for this good news….so relieved…..as we continue to journey with you. Have a blessed week ahead as we head into this holy day…..love you, Evie

Your thoughts warm my heart and strengthen my path, thanks for commenting on my journey,

