Interdisciplanary Conference

Thursday, April 19, 2012

Dr. Jaskowiak called with news, good and bad. It wasn’t good news first, it was just news intertwined together for me to unravel later. As all of my calls with U of C have been, she called while I was driving. I already knew to pull over and grab a notebook and pen.

The MRI showed the mass to be 8.5 x 5.5 x 4.5 cm, larger than they thought. But the right breast is clear. Good and bad…

The chest x-ray showed that the lungs were clear. And the ultrasound showed that two of the four lymph nodes were mildly asymmetrical. They are classified as borderline, so they don’t do anything about them unless there is surgery. Good and bad…

She told me that the interdisciplinary  conference was enthusiastic about me doing chemo for 18 weeks so they can learn how the tumor reacts and  then surgery followed by more chemo or my other choice is a mastectomy followed by chemo. The conference is a collaboration of oncologist, radiologist, hematologist, surgeon and others to review new cases and recommend treatment. I am so fortunate to have so many caring and experiencing doctors working together? But I’m not crazy about either of those options but reality is I have to face this head on and all my instincts are telling me to remove it.

Dr. J wanted to run a batter of tests to if the cancer is anywhere else and will try to get them all in on Monday.  We will meet at 7:30 am so she can talk about our options before my first appointment with Cancer Risk.

So on to Sheilah to schedule a biopsy of the carcinoma, a bone scan, blood draw, and CT of abdomen, chest and head for Monday.

Grace embraced: much good news, I’m focusing on the good and letting prayer cover the bad.

Your thoughts warm my heart and strengthen my path, thanks for commenting on my journey,

